2019-20 Foundation Scholarship Winners Announced

Posted on Apr. 30, 2019  /  KC Ad Club News  /  

One of the most unique things about AAF-KC is our Foundation, which has existed for over 30 years thanks to the stewardship of our club’s leaders at that time. The AAF-KC Foundation sold our club building (the old KC School of Law building at 908 Baltimore – now the KC Library administrative offices) and put that money into a trust, managed by the Greater Kansas City Community Foundation. That money is used to provide scholarships for area college students, in perpetuity, without having to fundraise or ask you, our members, to contribute to it.

The Foundation Scholarship includes:

  • Financial assistance of $750 per semester
  • One-year support and counsel of a mentor from the membership of the AAF-KC
  • One-year membership in AAF-KC
  • Invitations to attend all regular program activities of AAF-KC at no cost while in school (excludes annual American Advertising Awards show)
  • All AAF-KC mailings/emails
  • Membership in the American Advertising Federation

We’re pleased to announce this year’s winners:

  • Allison Binder, Northwest Missouri State University
  • Mary Carr, Kansas State University
  • Jacqueline Clawson, Kansas State University
  • Grace Corley, University of Missouri 
  • Mackenzie Elliott, University of Missouri
  • Joseph Holley, Washburn University
  • Kathryn Hurd, Kansas State University
  • Hope Johnson, University of Missouri
  • Kia Jones, Northwest Missouri State University
  • Moriah Manford, University of Kansas
  • Natalie May, Kansas State University
  • Julian McGhee, Missouri State University
  • Emma McLaren, Kansas State University
  • Briana Mears, University of Kansas
  • Quinn O'Connor, University of Kansas
  • Paige Rome, Kansas State University
  • Niloufar Salimi, University of Central Missouri

The AAF-KC Foundation committee is made up of a diverse group of Kansas City industry leaders, including:

  • Linda Buchner
  • Jon Cook, VMLY&R
  • Paul Diamond, DMH
  • Ali Mahaffy, Signal Theory
  • Krista Masilionis, Hallmark
  • Zach Mendenhall, VML
  • Kay Moore, Affinity Enterprise Group
  • Kyle Rohde, ER Marketing
  • Libby Schaller, Bernstein-Rein
  • Theresa Thornhill, Liquid 9
  • Vernon Williams, Bernstein-Rein
  • AAF-KC operations director (Betsy Larson)
  • AAF-KC board president (Rebecca Schwartz, Hallmark)
  • Ad 2 council president (Talon Spittles, Signal Theory)

Congratulations to all of our winners and thank you to all the mentors volunteering their time this year! If you have questions about the Foundation, please contact committee president Kyle Rohde at [email protected].

Kyle Rohde
AAF-KC Foundation President

Return to News